Wings Announce 2018 Jr. NBA Coach Of the Year Nominee

The Dallas Wings have announced their WNBA Coach of the Year community initiative by selecting 17 youth basketball coaches throughout the Metroplex who promote positive development and core character values to youth through the game of basketball.

The initiative was created to recognize and celebrate youth basketball coaches in the Dallas-Fort Worth area that demonstrate outstanding integrity, character, leadership, and who have extraordinary impact on young people on and off the court.

“We are excited about the launch of this initiative,” said Sean Alexander, Director of Community Development for the Wings. “This award is a great way of showing the appreciation our organization has to all those leaders who are developing core values and strengths to our youth through the game of basketball. This is something our organization believes in, and our players.”

The Wings have selected Cathy Self-Morgan of Duncanville High School as their Jr. NBA Coach of the Year Nominee. Self-Morgan will represent the team on a national level and will go up against the 11 other teams in the league selections. With 41 years of coaching experience, Self-Morgan is known across the nation for her dedication to the development of youth basketball. She has led the Duncanville Pantherettes to five State Championships and has amassed over 1,100 wins as a Head Coach in her career. If chosen, Self-Morgan will have the opportunity to be awarded a $2500 grant to support their local youth basketball organization.

The Wings chose the great leaders of the community through a selection process from online nominations that were turned in by fans, community leaders and school districts throughout the Metroplex. To recognize their efforts, each coach will be honored at a Dallas Wings home game during the 2018 season.

Below is the list of the coaches who have been named “Dallas Wings WNBA Coach of the Year” along with the name of the school or organization they assist.


Cathy Self-Morgan – Duncanville HS (Dallas Wings 2018 Nominee)
Teri Morrison – Southlake Carroll High School
Rodney Belcher – Plano HS
Suzy Oelshlegel – Irving MacArthur HS
Natasha Newsome – Arlington HS
Holly Mulligan – Prestonwood Christian Academy
Kelan Jones – South Oakcliff HS
John Griffin – Parish Episcopal HS
Kelly Carruthers – Bowie HS
Austin Brewster – Oak-cliff Faith & Family Academy
Larry Menendez – Team Motivate
Darmetreis Kilgore – Finding Me Academy
Shelley Davis – Richland HS
Robert Hunt – NMLA Elite
Darrin Samuels – Mesquite Horn HS
Aimee Kilgore – Denton Guyer
Cynthia Guillory – Team Fort Worth