Skylar Diggins-Smith and Liz Cambage Named 2018 All-Stars

ARLINGTON, TX– The WNBA revealed the list of 22 All-Stars for the Verizon WNBA All-Star 2018. Wings guard Skylar Diggins-Smith and Wings center Liz Cambage garnered selections.

Named to her fourth WNBA All-Star Game, Diggins-Smith has been selected to the All-Star Game every year except for her rookie season. She ties Cheryl Ford and Deanna Nolan with four appearances in franchise history. Her first all-star selection came in 2014, which followed her rookie year. She is currently averaging 19.5 points per game with 6.5 assists and has led the team in total dishes in 21 of the 22 games played. On June 8 at Indiana she recorded a career best of 35 points and 12 rebounds. It was her second 30-plus point game of the season. Against the Liberty on July 8, Diggins-Smith became the franchise leader for the most 20-plus and 30-plus point games in a career with 54 (20-plu points) and eight (30-plus point). Overall, she is registering 19.5 points per game and 6.5 rebounds per game with 34.2 minutes played, which leads the team.

Liz Cambage earns her second all-star selection after being recognized in 2013. Cambage joins teammate Glory Johnson and former Shock Katie Smith with two all-stars under her belt in franchise history. Cambage is currently holding one of the best performances in her career leading the Wings in scoring with 19.9 points per game and 9.1 rebounds per game. Cambage has reached career heights for total points in a game three times this season, with her most recent performance of 53 points this afternoon against the Liberty. Cambage becomes the new league leader for most points scored in a single game and franchise, behind Riquna Williams’ 51 points, which occurred in 2013. She has also registered nine double-doubles for the season with her best occurring today with the 53 points, 10 rebounds and a 77.2 field goal percentage, which surpasses Michael Jordan’s NBA regular season performance of 50 points, 10 rebounds and a 75 percent field goal percentage.

This year’s all-star team captains are Washington Mystics Delle Donne and Los Angeles Sparks Candace Parker. Each captain will select their respective teams from the pool of remaining All-Stars to form two 11-player rosters. Delle Donne will make the first pick and Parker will have the second pick. The two captains will then alternate picks until all players have been selected.

The rosters for Team Delle Donne and Team Parker will be revealed on Thursday, July 19 at the start of ESPN2’s telecast of a game between Washington and the Dallas Wings (8 p.m. ET tip-off). On Friday, July 27, the All-Star team captains and head coaches will meet to determine the starting lineups. The starters will be revealed that night on ESPN2 (7 p.m. ET) during a live telecast of the WNBA All-Star Welcome Reception in Minnesota. Seattle head coach Dan Hughes will lead Team Delle Donne, while Phoenix head coach Sandy Brondello will guide Team Parker.