Coach Pettis To Be Inducted in Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame

Dallas Wings Assistant Coach Bridget Pettis has been named to the 2017 Women’s Induction Class for the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, announced by the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors on December 20, 2016.

Pettis, who is entering her fourth season as assistant coach for the Wings and been part of the WNBA since its inception in 1997, will be honored on April 29, 2017, along with 10 other class members.

Pettis began her WNBA career as a member of the inaugural Phoenix Mercury team in 1997, where she was selected as the seventh pick in the Elite Draft. While part of the Mercury she set several milestones, including playing in a club record 154 consecutive games, starting in fifty-six of sixty games in her first two seasons.

Pettis also played with the Indiana Fever franchise from 2002-2003 before finishing her career as a player in Phoenix in 2006.

The Mercury honored her as one of the most popular players in franchise history, retiring her jersey on June 6, 2006. In her eight seasons as a WNBA player, she played in 228 games and scored 1,408 points.

A graduate of the University of Florida, Pettis played under coach Carol Ross, where she was named to the 1993 All-Southeastern Conference Team, helping the Gators achieve a 19-10 record and their first ever NCAA Tournament berth. During her two-year, 53-game career at Florida (1991-93), Pettis recorded 804 points, 247 rebounds, 135 assists and 107 steals. She also held all three-point school records, finished sixth on the all-time career point average leaders (15.2 ppg) and was a member of the Gator’s first NCAA Tournament Team.

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2017
Name – High School – Graduation Year
Nikki (Anderson) – Cerbone Center Grove – 1987
Krissi Davis – Noblesville – 1987
Beth (Davis) Fagan – Greenfield-Central – 1988
Charlie Hall – Kokomo – 1974
Donna (Lamping) Hoeing – Batesville – 1981
Jennifer Jacoby – Rossville – 1991
Patricia (Babcock) McGraw – Culver Academies – 1990
Louise Owen – Evansville Central – 1947
Bridget Pettis – East Chicago Central – 1989
Julie (VonDielingen) Shelton – Seymour – 1989
Renee Westmoreland – Scottsburg – 1989

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 16th Annual Women’s Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 29, 2017. The day’s events will include a free reception at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Museum that afternoon and a banquet that evening at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis.