WNBA’s Dallas Wings Announce Full Schedule for Inaugural Season in DFW Metroplex

The WNBA’s Dallas Wings today announced the 34-game schedule for the team’s inaugural season in the DFW Metroplex, highlighted by the home opener on Saturday, May 21st, 2016 against in-state rival, the San Antonio Stars.  The 2016 WNBA season commences with  WNBA Tip-Off presented by Verizon,  which consists of 12 games that take place over nine days (May 14-22), showcasing the home opener of every team.

ESPN networks will air up to 33 games, including wall-to-wall coverage of the WNBA postseason with ESPN networks televising every game of the WNBA Playoffs and WNBA Finals presented by Verizon.  All ESPN telecasts will also be available on WatchESPN.  NBA TV will televise more than 40 games during the regular season.  That telecast schedule will be announced at a later date.

As the WNBA celebrates its 20th season in 2016, the Wings’ regular season will tip off with a three-game road trip beginning on Saturday, May 14th against the defending Eastern Conference Champions, the Indiana Fever, followed by games against the New York Liberty on Sunday, May 15th and the Washington Mystics on Wednesday, May 18th.  These games will be followed by the home opener, which will serve as the first-ever regular season WNBA game to be played in the DFW Metroplex, as the San Antonio Stars will take on the Wings on Saturday, May 21st at 7:30p.m., at College Park Center, the team’s home court.

From May 21st through September 11th, the Wings will host 17 regular season home games at College Park Center, a state-of-the-art 7,000-seat arena conveniently located on the campus of The University of Texas at Arlington.

On June 21, the 19-year anniversary of the WNBA’s inaugural game, the Wings, led by All-Star Skylar Diggins, will make their ESPN2 debut with a home game against the Mercury. The Wings also will close out ESPN’s regular-season schedule when they visit the Fever on the final day of the season, Sept. 18.

Among the marquee matchups for the Wings at home in 2016 include the 2015 Eastern Conference Champion Indiana Fever coming to DFW on Saturday, June 25th, while the 2015 WNBA Champions, the Minnesota Lynx, led by Maya Moore, visit the Dallas Wings on Sunday, July 17th. Reigning WNBA MVP Elena Delle Donne and the Chicago Sky will clash with the Dallas Wings at College Park Center for two Sunday matinee games on May 29th and again on August 28th.

“Having our inaugural season coincide with the WNBA’s 20th anniversary celebration is truly a unique and special way to introduce our team to the DFW Metroplex,” said David Swatzell, President & CEO, Dallas Wings.  “With the addition of the new playoff format, the league’s 20th season looks to be the most competitive yet.  Our young team is ready to build off of last year’s playoff experience and compete for a WNBA championship in 2016.”

Further, a new in-state rivalry was born off the Wings’ move to the DFW Metroplex, as the team will battle the San Antonio Stars a total of three times throughout the 2016 season. In addition to the home opener on May 21st, the Stars will also visit College Park Center on Thursday, June 23rd, while the Wings will travel to San Antonio for a late-season matchup on Friday, September 9th.

The 2016 WNBA regular season runs from Saturday, May 14 through Sunday, Sept. 18.  A complete game-by-game listing of the schedule is available athttp://www.wnba.com/schedule/.

Season ticket packages and information about the Dallas Wings can be found at dallaswingsbasketball.com or by calling (817) 469-9464. To follow the franchise via social media, please visitwww.facebook.com/dallaswingsbasketball/,@DWingsHoops on Twitter or@DallasWingsBasketball on Instagram.

2016 schedule, see below:

    DATE                   OPPONENT            TIME         

May.Sat. 14            AT Indiana              5:00 PM CT

    Sun. 15                 AT New York          4:00 PM CT

    Wed. 18               AT Washington      6:00 PM CT

    Sat. 21                   San Antonio           7:30 PM CT

    Fri. 27                   Atlanta                     7:30 PM CT

    Sun. 29                 Chicago                    3:30 PM CT

Jun.Sat.  4               AT Minnesota        7:00 PM CT

    Wed.  8                 Washington            7:30 PM CT

    Sat. 11                   Los Angeles            7:30 PM CT

    Tue. 14                 AT New York          6:00 PM CT

    Thu. 16                Seattle                       7:30 PM CT

    Sat. 18                  AT Phoenix             9:00 PM CT

    Tue. 21                 Phoenix                    7:00 PM CT

    Thu. 23                 San Antonio           7:30 PM CT

    Sat. 25                  Indiana                     7:30 PM CT

    Tue. 28                 AT Los Angeles     9:00 PM CT

    Thu. 30                AT Seattle                9:00 PM CT

Jul.Sat.  2               Connecticut             7:30 PM CT

    Tue.  5                  Phoenix                     7:30 PM CT

    Fri.  8                    AT Atlanta               6:30 PM CT

    Sat.  9                   AT Minnesota         7:00 PM CT

    Fri. 15                   AT Chicago              7:30 PM CT

    Sun. 17                 Minnesota               3:30 PM CT

    Wed. 20               Connecticut           11:30 AM CT

    Fri. 22                  AT Atlanta               6:30 PM CT (Game played at Georgia Tech)

Aug.Fri. 26             AT Phoenix            9:00 PM CT

    Sun. 28                Chicago                    3:30 PM CT

    Wed. 31               AT Seattle                9:00 PM CT

Sep.Fri.  2               Los Angeles            7:30 PM CT

    Sun.  4                  Washington           3:30  PM CT

    Fri.  9                    AT San Antonio    7:00 PM CT

    Sun. 11                 New York                 3:30 PM CT

    Fri. 16                  AT Connecticut      6:00 PM CT

    Sun. 18                AT Indiana               3:00 PM CT